D'Angelo's First Album in 14 Years "Black Messiah"


D'Angelo's first album in 14 years was released on Sunday, December 14 at midnight at iTunes. Fans are expressing their excitement all across social media.  

"Bought an album after its release at midnight. Yes! I bought #BlackMessiah by @TheDAngelo. I've been waiting for 14 years!!!"

"We can all agree that D'Angelo's new album #BlackMessiah is hands-down the greatest piece of recorded music in human history!"

" I can't wait to listen to #BlackMessiah I've been waiting too damn long for this moment."

"Black Messiah is a hell of a name for an album," reads the album introduction by D'Angelo. "Many will think it's about religion. Some will jump to the conclusion that I'm calling myself a Black Messiah. For me, the title is about all of us. It's about the world. It's about an idea we can all aspire to. We Should all aspire to be a Black Messiah.

"Its about people rising up in Ferguson and in Egypt and in Occupy Wall Street and in every place where a community has had enough and decides to make change happen. It's not about praising one charismatic leader but celebrating thousands of them. Not every song on this album is politically charged (though many are), but calling this album Black Messiah creates a landscape where these songs can live to the fullest. Black Messiah is not one man. It's a feeling that, collectively, we are all that leader."

According to the lyric booklet, Q-Tip and Kendra Foster of Parliament-Funkadelic contributed lyrics to Black Messiah. ?uestlove, bassist Pino Palladino, and drummer James Gadson play on it as well.  

Black Messiah track list:
1. Ain't That Easy
2. 1000 Deaths
3. The Charade
4. Sugah Daddy
5. Really Love
6. Back in the Future (Part I)
7. Till It's Done (Tutu)
8. Prayer
9. Betray My Heart
10. The Door
11. Back in the Future (Part II)
12. Another Life



Tags : D'Angelo D'Angelo black messiah D'Angelo new album D'Angelo sugah daddy D'Angelo news D'Angelo 2014

Hot Trends

Most Popular

popular videos