Ten Years Ago Hillsong's Reuben Morgan Released "World Through Your Eyes"

reuben morgan

Currently serving as Hillsong Church's worship pastor, Reuben Morgan has written some of the Aussie church's finest worship staples including "I Give You My Heart," "At the Cross," "Cornerstone," "God is Able" and many others. His song "Mighty to Save" even won the Worship Song of the Year at the 40th GMA Dove Awards.  However, ten years ago this September, Morgan released his first solo record "World Through Your Eyes."

Signed to Michael W. Smith's Rockettown Records, "World Through Your Eyes" debut at the lofty #3 spot in the "Australian Christian Chart."  The company released his debut album in the United States, but four of the original songs were removed in favor of cover versions of Hillsong songs written by Morgan. In addition, the remaining songs were remixed and the resulting songs had a heavier feel when compared to the softer adult contemporary-style originals. 

Most of the songs on the record are more upbeat than the Hillsong Live albums then. One of the album's highlight was the propulsive and dynamic "Gloria" an extremely lively song with a bit of rock that features the Latin chorus accustomed to the song. Even Morgan's own versions of Hillsong's staples such has "My Redeemer Lives" and "I Give You My Heart" have a more British rock persona.  The album ends on a softer note with "Waiting Here," a slower song with a particularly supple sound and enchanting lyrics, which closes things out beautifully. 

Morgan followed up "World Through Your Eyes," with his sophomore record "Everyone." "Everyone" contains Morgan's interpretation of his music and was recorded in a big sounding, studio worship without the congregational elements found in the Hillsong Live albums. "Everyone" largely featured covers of previously released Hillsong songs written by Morgan and was released in Australia on 2 October 2006.

Ever since these two solo releases, Morgan has not yet surfaced with another follow-up.  Rather, he has kept himself busy witth leading, writing, touring and singing for Hillsong Church.  Though avid fans may remember his duet from 2012 with Graham Kendrick "Keep My Eyes on You," a track that appeared on Kenderick's duet album which also features fellow Hillsong leader Darlene Zschech.  

Here was the tracklisting of "World Through Your Eyes:"

  1. My Redeemer Lives
  2. Hear Our Praises
  3. All The Heavens
  4. I Give You My Heart
  5. Waterfall
  6. As I Am
  7. Stand
  8. The Fear
  9. World Through Your Eyes
  10. Gloria
  11. Waiting Here

Tags : reuben morgan hillsong worship reuben morgan hillsong Darlene Zschech graham kendrick Hillsong Darlene Zschech reuben morgan news Hillsong Reuben Morgan world through your eyes everyone reuben morgan world through your eyes reuben morgan solo albums

Hot Trends

Most Popular

popular videos