Phil Wickham Shares His Heart Behind "Hymn Of Heaven (Acoustic Sessions)"

Phil Wickham

Phil Wickham has just released the newly recorded album, Hymn Of Heaven (Acoustic Sessions). The 12-song record finds Wickham offering acoustic  and re-imagined renditions of the songs from his 8th album of the same name. Wickham has taken the time to reveal his heart behind the project. 

This new album was created so that we can take time out to worship. Wickham writes, "Hoping this new album helps you to remember to "stop and smell the roses". To slow down enough for a moment during the day to become aware of God's presence, his care for You, and the glory He has placed inside and around you."

To help slow down our pace, the album is particularly poignant. Wickham explains, "There's a cliff near our home that overlooks the ocean. It's become my families "sunset spot". We'll pile into the van and head there to watch the sun come down over the Pacific, usually with some In-N-Out Burger or ice cream in hand:). It's always a beautiful time together.

"I recorded `Hymn Of Heaven - Acoustic Sessions' with that exact scene in mind. I actually have a photo of my kids at our "sunset spot", and throughout the project I kept coming back to that photo. I wanted to make a version of `Hymn Of Heaven' that would be a soundtrack to those kinds of moments." 

Collaborators who joined Wickham to write for Hymn of Heaven include multi-GRAMMY® winners Jonathan Smith (who also produced the album), Jason Ingram, Ethan Hulse, Brian Johnson, Ricky and Ran Jackson, as well as Passion City's Sean Curran, Hillsong's Chris Davenport, Bethel Music's Kalley Heiligenthal, and Brandon Lake, who is featured on the track "Where I'm Standing Now." 

"I just want to write songs that I'd want to sing with my church in a way that musically lights my heart up, and I think I've done that better on this record than I ever have before," Wickham adds, fully comfortable in his artistic skin. "I cannot wait for people to hear this album. I can't wait for these songs to be a part of people's lives."


1. Reason I Sing
2. House Of The Lord
3. Battle Belongs
4. God Of Revival
5. It's Always Been You
6. Hymn Of Heaven
7. Where I'm Standing Now (feat. Brandon Lake)
8. 1,000 Names
9. Look To Jesus
10. Falling In Love
11. His Names Is Jesus
12. Heart Full Of Praise 

Tags : Hymn Of Heaven (Acoustic Sessions) Phil Wickham phil wickham news Phil Wickham acoustic album Phil Wickham hymn of heaven

Hot Trends

Most Popular

popular videos